My Humboldt Park: John Vergara

We begin the My Humboldt Park series with local artist, John Vergara. John is best known in the Humboldt Park community for creating the Paseo Boricua/Humboldt Park Coat Of Arms mural on the corner of Campbell and Division, as well as, his now famous flag (with the Coat of Arms)

What has your involvement been in the community and for how long?
I’ve been working in the community for about eight years now. Born and raised in Humboldt Park, I’ve seen the good, and the bad. Other than that, I feel better giving back to the community now that I’m all grown up. Now that people see me as a role model for the youth, I can share my life experiences with the younger crowd and maybe they can learn from my mistakes, and I can teach them through my art.

What are some of your first memories of the Humboldt Park community?
My family brings me the most memories living in Humboldt Park. Many great memories growing up here: the food, culture, and music of course. But the one memory I will always remember is a mural painted on the corner of North Avenue and Artesian titled (La Crucifixion De Don Pedro Albizu Campos). I remember that as a kid and in 2010 I’m the lead Artist doing the restoration on the mural. I was honored!

What are some of your proudest moments in Humboldt Park?
One of the proudest moments for me was creating the “Humboldt Park Flag,” and the community embracing the flag the way they did. But the proudest moment for me hands down, was taking my son for a walk in the neighborhood and everyone greeting me, and thanking me for what I’m doing for the community with  my talent. So my son asked me one day,”Dad are you famous? I said no, so he said, “Because everybody knows you but you don’t have any money” “Ha Ha!” I laughed. That put a smile on my face for weeks !! Too funny. That was my proudest moment for me knowing that I can be a positive role model for my son.

What do you see as some of the best parts/possibilities of the community?
There’s definitely room for growth in the community, there just needs to be more unity.  We can’t forget our youth ! Without teaching them about community and culture, we won’t have a Humboldt Park that we can call home.

Where do you see the Humboldt Park community in the next thee years?
If people of power in the community don’t get it together —politicians, community activists and leaders, business owners, everyone—we won’t have a Paseo Boricua to call home ! I always say, “thank god for the economy crashing the way it did, because Humboldt Park would have been completely GENTRIFIED!” We need to appreciate what we have and hold on to it for generations to come.

What is the place or thing in the community that you feel does not get enough attention?
For many people the west side of the park doesn’t even exist, Look ! Humboldt Park isn’t about Division Street only ! That’s my opinion.

How do you think residents could better the work you are doing or work developing the community?
A little support goes a long way. Trust me, any support helps! Being a starving artist can take a lot out of you. Especially for myself coming from the streets involved with gangs, drugs, prison, etc… you know! Street life. It’s hard to overcome being profiled as a thug or just some punk from the streets. So I just take it step by step and keep my head up. Maybe the problem isn’t the gangbangers or dope dealers ! Maybe the problem is the people that have connections with jobs, Youth Service Programs, just things for the youth at risk to do to keep them out of trouble or in some cases dead. Maybe the community needs to pay more attention to the youth.

Who are some people in Humboldt Park that are people everyone should know?
Where do i begin ? I would like people to pay more attention and get to know the artists in the community. Painters, Sculptors, Musicians, the list goes on and on. Too many to name. But there’s one person that sticks out the most for me, that has never judged me, and has always helped with advice. He puts his heart and soul into everything he does. The Executive director of DSBDA (Division Street Business Development Association),  Eduardo Arocho. It’s people like him that keep me on a positive track. We need more good people like him that care about the community.

Anything you would want to add about Humboldt Park as a whole?
Beautiful people.  Humboldt park is a piece of Puerto Rico that people like me can call home.

Who are the up and coming leaders you follow in the community?
I’m my own leader.

To learn more about John and to purchase the Paseo Boricua flag, email him at johnvergara73@yahoo.com.

  1. #1 by dalia rivera on June 20, 2011 - 3:16 pm

    ey john i wanna give props for being the human being that you are .i will support you in anything you need.because i think that we need to support our own home base artitist..you are a great person and i love you to death…you my brother….love ya….

  2. #2 by Mark Quiles on March 16, 2013 - 10:09 am

    Yo my name is Mark Quiles and the Johnny Vergara that i know knows me this work is exquisite and i miss little puerto rico where iam a boricua de sangre and im proud of that community

Leave a comment

  • Top Posts

    My Humboldt Park: John Vergara