SEXomedy: Real talk from Humboldt Park’s talented Melissa DuPrey

Forget the crap you see in Cosmo with its glossy pictures and advice about how to keep your man satisfied! We need real talk, and actor/playwright/comedian/dancer/musician/activist, Melissa DuPrey brings it to us like she’s one of our Girls and we’re dishing secrets at a slumber party, in her one-woman show, SEXomedy. 

Melissa DuPrey

Melissa DuPrey

I first caught a glimpse (about 10 minutes) of SEXomedyduring a fundraiser I attended a few months back. The host presented Melissa and I thought, wait I know that name. She got on stage and I immediately felt her energy. As she began to talk about the trials and tribulations of body hair and shaving, my friend turned to me and said, “She’s funny” and I nodded.

Then, there it was, the moment it went from humorous to raw, real, and hilarious. She was  not only talking about shaving ‘there’ but she was mimicking the motions we all knew we’d made a million times. My friend and I had the same reaction: Our eyes opened wide, our hands over our mouths as we gasped, and then we looked at each other and burst into laughter as we pointed at Melissa as if saying, “That’s right, Girl! TELL IT!”

Read the full review at Moments in My Head!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • Top Posts

    Paseo Boricua